An Unofficial Web Page on the Academy Awards at OscarWorld.Net
"All The World's An Oscar ... All Of Us Wishing We Had One."
About Us
Play my film, And The Oscar for Best Picture Went To ... (2012 Edition)
Home Oscar History Jason's Best Oscar Contest Movie Fun

The Latest ...

On The Web Since 1995!
Why do I love the Academy Awards so much?   It's simple ... because I love movies so much.   The Academy Awards are the only awards show that are solely devoted to honoring the entire craft of filmmaking.  It's the one major night each year when the majority of the film community is gathered together to celebrate excellence in one of the greatest art forms there is.   It's the rare evening when aspiring and struggling short film makers, unsung film editors, visual effects artists, and the biggest stars in the world can all share the same stage for a few hours.   Are the Academy Awards perfect?  Of course not.   Have they made some terrible choices?   Of course they have.  But regardless of their choices, the Academy Award remains the pinnacle of achievement for anyone making movies, and has also marked the history of film, all the way from 1927 when talking pictures were making their debut, and they continue to this day to celebrate and honor the craft of filmmaking.  Just like motion pictures, the Oscars mark moments in time.   Just as certain films can bring back memories of the people we saw the films with, and what was going on in our lives at the time we experienced them, the Academy Awards also mark moments in time, based on the events in the world at the time, the popular and respected stars and directors of their times, and more.
At this web site, we not only offer Oscar history information for those needing it, but we also want to make this a fun, interactive experience as well.   Share your opinions with the world on everything from your favorite films of all time, your picks if we could vote for who should receive the next Honorary Academy Awards, your opinions on the worst Oscar snubs of all time, and even our own annual contest, The OscarWorld Open, where you can uniquely predict who you think will win each year's Academy Awards.  This website has been around for many years, almost since the beginning of the popularity of the internet, and has changed many times over the years ... we hope you enjoy your visit and e-mail me at anytime at

This site is strictly unofficial. No name or likeness should be inferred. This site is in no way affiliated with and is not endorsed by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. "Oscar(s)" and "Academy Award(s)" are registered trademarks and service marks of A.M.P.A.S.

OscarWorld.Net © 2020 | Privacy Policy | Advertising With Us | Dedication To Ted Larson

Listen to Jason's Online Weekly Radio Show
Live Monday Nights, 10 PM CST
Archived Shows Available!